Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Johnny Hunt elected president of SBC on first ballot

Posted on Jun 10, 2008 by David Roach
INDIANAPOLIS (BP)--Johnny Hunt, pastor of First Baptist Church in Woodstock, Ga., was elected president of the Southern Baptist Convention June 10, receiving 52.94 percent of votes (3,100) cast on the first ballot.

Five other candidates were nominated. Frank Cox received 1,286 votes (21.96 percent); Avery Willis, 962 votes (16.43 percent); William (Bill) Wagner, 255 votes (4.35 percent); Les Puryear, 188 votes (3.21 percent); and Wiley Drake, 45 votes (.77 percent).

A total of 5,856 ballots were cast, and 20 (.34 percent) were disallowed. At the time of the election, there were 7,196 registered messengers at the annual meeting.

Hunt was nominated by Ted Traylor, pastor of Olive Baptist Church in Pensacola, Fla.

Traylor said he was nominating Hunt because of his "heart for the nations" and his "heart for the next generation." Hunt will unite the convention and "forge a hopeful future" focused on the Gospel and connected to local churches, Traylor said.

Hunt's heart for the nations has been demonstrated in his church's missions giving and participation, Traylor said. Last year alone, he said, First Baptist gave $3.3 million to Southern Baptist mission causes.

Over the past 28 years, the church has been responsible for planting 78 new churches and during Hunt's 22-year tenure has seen hundreds of people surrender to full-time Christian ministry and mission service, Traylor added.

Hunt's heart for the next generation, Traylor said, has been illustrated through his work with conferences that have reached 25,000 young leaders during the past 20 years.

"As you elect him today, you will send an instant message to that young generation that they have a place at the SBC table," Traylor said. "They love him. You know him. And I believe it's time we elect him as our convention president."


I can only add, "YAHOO!" :-D

No comments: